SEAA 2022 – SPPI

Software Process and Product Improvement (SPPI)

Technical Track Scope

Motivation: The size, complexity, and criticality of software-intensive systems require innovative and economic approaches to development and evolution. In today’s competitive world, software quality is a key to success and stability of organizations. Software process and product improvement (SPPI) aims at significantly increasing both the quality of software-intensive systems and the productivity of software development. The SPPI track will bring together researchers and practitioners to share SPPI innovations and experiences. The track is an integral part of the 48th Euromicro Conference on Software Engineering and Advanced Applications (SEAA) 2022.


Topics of interest include, but are not restricted to:

  • Organizational and business views on process improvement
  • Value-based software engineering
  • Global software engineering
  • Quality assurance, inspections, testing
  • Software process improvement and process standards
  • Process modeling, composition, and enactment/simulation
  • Quantitative models and big data for development processes and products
  • Essential system quality aspects, e.g., dependability, safety, security, or usability
  • Technical debt
  • Open source software and software quality
  • Agile and lean development
  • Software reuse, variability management, product lines, and software ecosystems
  • Software evolution
  • Continuous delivery/integration and DevOps, software process and product evolution with feedback from operation
  • Empirical studies and experimental approaches
  • Process improvement for innovative/emerging application areas (e.g., deep learning/AI, systems of systems, cloud/fog-based computing, big data systems, cyber-physical systems, IoT, Industry 4.0)

In particular, we encourage submissions demonstrating the benefits or limitations of SPPI approaches through case studies, experiments, and quantitative data.

Track Organizers

Stefan Biffl,, TU Vienna, Austriaweb
Dietmar Winkler,, TU Vienna, Austria web
Rick Rabiser,, Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria web

Program Committee

  • Ove Armbrust, Intel Corporation, USA
  • Matthias Book, University of Iceland, Iceland
  • Jan Bosch, Chalmers & Gothenburg University, Sweden
  • Ruth Breu, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • Michel Chaudron, TU Eindhoven Netherlands
  • Marcus Ciolkowski, QAware GmbH
  • Maya Daneva, Twente University, Netherlands
  • Michael Felderer, University of Innsbruck, Austria
  • Marcela Genero, University Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
  • Volker Gruhn, University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany
  • Jens Heidrich, Fraunhofer IESE, Germany
  • Helena Holmström Olsson, Mälmö University, Sweden
  • Martin Höst, Lund University, Sweden
  • Frank Houdek, Daimler AG, Germany
  • Tomi Männistö, University of Helsinki, Finland
  • Maurizio Morisio, Politecnico di Torino. Italy
  • Juergen Muench, University of Reutlingen, Germany
  • Barbara Paech, Heidelberg University, Germany
  • Rudolf Ramler, Software Competence Center Hagenberg, Austria
  • Andreas Rausch, Technische Universität Clausthal, Germany